The founders of ISLS were seeking an opportunity to support new scholars in the fields that intersect with language studies, and thus created the FESA award. This award is intended to promote critical language scholarship and to recognize and advance the academic work of emergent scholars who have completed their doctoral dissertations within the past five years and are entering into the community of scholars. It honors the efforts of the founding members of the International Society for Language Studies (ISLS) who established the first international society dedicated to critical scholarship in language studies. In particular, it recognizes research that addresses neglected populations, focuses on little-studied research sites, offers new perspectives, and/or uses innovative methods. The award is granted once every two years. Previous unsuccessful applicants are welcome to reapply. We encourage all applicants to join ISLS, but membership is not required for nomination. The winner is expected to become an ISLS member. 

We are currently accepting nominations for the 2018 FESA award. The application deadline is June 15, 2018. For details about how to prepare your application please click here.



We are delighted to announce the recipient of 2016 FESA Award is Dr. Kathryn Henderson. She is an assistant professor in the Department of Bicultural-Bilingual Studies, College of Education and Human Development at The University of Texas at San Antonio. She completed her Ph.D. (2015) at The University of Texas at Austin in the Bilingual/Bicultural Program in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction. Her dissertation titled "Dual Language Bilingual Education Program Implementation, Teacher Language Ideologies and Local Language Policy" won the AERA Bilingual SIG outstanding dissertation award (2016). After completing her B.A. (2004) at Washington University in St. Louis, she taught elementary school for five years abroad in Guadalajara, Mexico, during which time she earned her M.A. (2009) in education. She has presented regularly in local, regional, and international conferences and is published in journals such as the Modern Language Journal, Language Policy, and International Journal of Bilingual Education and Bilingualism. Her education interests include language ideologies, language policy and dual language bilingual education programs. 


2016 - Dr. Kathryn Henderson, The University of Texas at San Antonio (click here to access an abstract of her winning article)
2014 - Dr. Jill Hallett, Northeastern Illinois University (click here to access her winning article)
2012 - Dr. Sunny Lau, Bishop's University (click here to access her winning article)